Year 1

Holidays!

We had a great time during Art Week creating our own images based on Kandinsky. The children learnt lots about Kandinsky and his work. We talked about what inspired him and what sort of paintings he liked to create. 

These pictures will be available to purchase on Friday. 

Our key learning this week: 

Children have got homework for the holidays in their books to write a diary about what they get up to in the holidays. They also have some work about number bonds to 10. I have challenged children to learn their number bonds to 10! 

Messages:

Please can all children have trainers and PE kit in school everyday. 

Monday 29th October - School begins 

Tuesday 30th October - Year 1 visit to the museum AM

Thursday 1st November - Mass @ St. Josephs 

Monday 5th November - Parents evening 3.30-5.30pm

Wednesday 7th November - Parents evening 5-7pm

Friday 9th November - Armistice Liturgy @ 9.15am

W/B Monday 12th November - Judaism Week 

Sunday 2nd December - Advent Mass @ St. Josephs 11am 

Monday 10th December - Nativity dress rehearsal @ 1.30pm

Wednesday 12th December- Nativity @ 6pm

Thursday 13th December - Nativity @ 6pm  

Monday 17th December - Christmas Carol Concert @ St. Josephs 6pm 

Tuesday 18th December - EYFS/KS1 Christmas Party 

Wednesday 19th December - Christmas Lunch

Thursday 20th December - School finishes @ 2.30pm 

Topic

Our topic this term is me, myself and I. You can find our topic web for this year here.

Must do at home, please: (reviewed termly) 

By the end of keystage 1 children are expected to be able to read and spell these words.  

Please ensure children are reading at least 3 times a week at home and that this is recorded in their reading record.

Please use this bookmark your children have to support their reading. Click here to view online.

There is also a useful booklet to help support your child's reading at home here.

Additional ways to support your child/book lists:

Read Write Inc.

We use the phonics scheme Read Write Inc. at English Martrys. This PowerPoint presentation explains how it works.

Please click here for worksheets to help with formation of letters to practice with your child at home. 

Homework Expectations – Year 1 

Homework will be set every Friday and should be returned by the following Wednesday. Pupils are expected to complete all set tasks. 

Additionally, children must read and record their reading in their diaries at least three times each week. 

Work in their homework books is expected to be of the same standard as work in school, with neat handwriting, diagrams in pencil and care take to include appropriate punctuation and good spelling.

House points will be awarded for good work each week.